Jeneary Wins!!



(Le Mars) — Jeneary Wins!! Dr. Tom Jeneary, the retired dentist from Le Mars was able to win the nomination in the Republican primary for the State House Seat District 5. Jeneary was challenged by Joseph Small of Akron. The unofficial results show the race may have been thought to be closer in the six precincts of Woodbury County with Jeneary winning with a 36 vote margin, 153 to 117. However, in Plymouth County, Jeneary easily won with nearly a 75 percent margin of victory. Jeneary garnered 977 votes to Small’s 335 votes, or slightly above 25 percent. Other Plymouth County results show Republican
Congressman Steve King defeating Republican challenger Cyndi Hanson with a comfortable 3 to 1 margin. King got 1091 votes to Cyndi Hanson’s 334 votes.
Five candidates were seeking the position of Iowa Secretary of Agriculture.
In Plymouth County, current Secretary, Mike Naig had over 50 percent of the votes. Naig, who was Bill Northey’s Deputy Secretary, and who was appointed
the position by Governor Kim Reynolds won Plymouth County with 633 votes, or 51.67 percent.

Former Iowa Farm Bureau president, Craig Lang was second in Plymouth County with 222 votes or 18.12 percent. State Senator and chairman of the Senate Agriculture Committee, Dan Zumbach was in third position with 177 votes or 14.45 percent of the votes. Former Iowa and American Soybean Association president, Ray Gaesser had slightly more than ten percent of the Plymouth County votes with 130, and Chad Ingels earned 62 votes, or slightly more than five percent of the vote.

In the Democrat races for Plymouth County, it was former baseball athlete J.D. Scholten of Sioux City easily winning the nomination for Iowa’s 4th Congressional District over Spencer city councilwoman Leann Jacobson and Dr.
John Paschen of Ames. Scholten received 380 votes to win Plymouth County or nearly 75 percent of the vote to Jacobson’s 95 votes or 18.74 percent, and Dr. John Paschen had 32 votes in Plymouth County, or 6.3 percent.

The five-way race for the Democratic nomination for Governor had Des Moines Businessman Fred Hubbell winning Plymouth County with 322 votes, or 62.52 percent.

Political operative, John Norris earned second place at the polls with 80 votes or 15.53 percent. Nurse and union organizer Cathy Glasson wasin third place with 71 votes or 13.79 percent. Although he suspended his campaign, State Senator Nate Boulton was able to place fourth in Plymouth County with 19 votes, or 3.69 percent. Former State Democratic party chair, Dr. Andrea “Andy” McGuire had 16 votes, or 3.11 percent, and Ross Wilburn earned seven votes for 1.36 percent.

Jim Mowrer narrowly defeated Deidre DeJear for the Democratic nomination for Secretary of State. Mowrer had 254 votes to DeJear’s 219 for a 53.7 percent to 46.3 percent.