Monday, May 30, 2016
Text Size

King Retains Congressional Seat

King Beats Vilsack For Congressional Seat

(Le Mars) -- Most voters from Plymouth County perhaps focused on both the Presidential and the Congressional races rather than the local elections due to the fact that most local races were unopposed.  In what was determined to be a very competitive and fierce  Congressional race, Republican Steve King has been able to hold on to his seat in Congress as he was able to defeat Democratic rival, Christie Vilsack.  The percentage was 53 percent voting for King and 44 percent in favor of Vilsack.  King was able to win the majority of counties with the exception of six counties, all located within the new territory.  With 97 percent of the precincts reporting, King garnered 196,359 votes to Vilsack's 164,791 votes.

Romney Wins Plymouth County But Loses Iowa and the Nation

(Le Mars) -- Governor Mitt Romney, the Republican candidate for President, won Plymouth County rather easily, but lost the ever important battleground of Iowa.  Romney garnered nearly twice as many votes as President BaracK Obama in Plymouth County having earned 66 percent of the votes with 8577 votes compared to President Obama's 32 percent of the vote with 4148 votes.  President Barack Obama was able to be re-elected having won more than 300 electoral votes.

Large Voter Turnout Reported For Plymouth County

(Le Mars) -- Plymouth County Auditor Stacy Feldman says more than 12,000 votes were cast during the election.  Feldman says that number represents nearly 76 percent of the eligible voters either residing  or registered in Plymouth County.

Listen to

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Feldman says the voting went well with no problems reported.

Listen to

Audio clip: Adobe Flash Player (version 9 or above) is required to play this audio clip. Download the latest version here. You also need to have JavaScript enabled in your browser.

Plymouth County Election Results:

(Le Mars) -- Most of the county wide political races were unopposed.  Here is the total votes cast for Plymouth County candidates.  13 of 13 precincts reporting.

Supervisor #2 -- Mark Loutsch   9988 votes

Supervisor #3 -- Don Kass         9810 votes

Supervisor #5 -- Jim Henrich      9858 votes

Auditor -- Stacy Feldman           9948 votes

Sheriff -- Mike Van Otterloo       10,532 votes

Fredonia trustee -- Jerry Reuter      107 votes

Soil & Water Conservation Bd.

- Sandra Kay Fravel                  5702 votes

- Tony Schroeder                    7104 votes

- Steven Tonsfeldt                  6014 votes

Co. Extension Board

- Alex Popken                         4692 votes*

- Yvette Bowen                      2095 votes

- Pat Lehner                           5276 votes*

- Brad Harvey                          4982 votes*

- Deb Baldwin                         3497 votes

- Cindy Klemme                       5413 votes*


State Senator District 2

- Randy Feenstra  (R)              348 votes


State Representative District 3

- Dan Huseman   (R)                358 votes


State Representative District 5

- Chuck Soderberg   (R)          9686 votes


Judges Are Retained

(Des Moines) -- With the exception of Iowa Supreme Court Justice David Wiggins, Plymouth County voters decided to retain all the justices that were up for election.  Plymouth County voters had a 54 percent to 45 percent margin to force Wiggins to vacate his seat at the bench.  The entire state did vote in favor of retaining Justice Wiggins to the Iowa Supreme Court.  Wiggins was part of the justices that ruled on the controversial same sex marriage provision, deciding that Iowa's one-man and one-woman marriage law was ruled unconstitutional.







Search KLEM

Copyright 2010, Powell Broadcasting, Website developed by iCast Interactive