Jeff Mulder Awarded The “Firefighter Of The Year” Honor


Le Mars Fire and Rescue Chief Dave Schipper (left) Congratulates Jeff Mulder as he was awarded the “Firefighter of the Year” Honor during the recent Le Mars Fire and Rescue Department’s annual banquet.

(Le Mars) — Last Saturday evening, during the Le Mars Fire and Rescue Department’s annual banquet and awards program, Jeff Mulder of Le Mars was named the “Firefighter of the Year.” Fire Chief Dave Schipper presented a plaque to Mulder in honor of the recognition. Mulder is one of the senior members on the firefighter team. He has been a Le Mars firefighter for the
past ten years, but Mulder says his total time as a firefighter goes back to when he resided in Minnesota. All total, Mulder has been a firefighter and EMT for more than 36 years, and he shares high compliments for the Le Mars Fire and Rescue Department.

Mulder is certified in many categories including Firefighter 1, Hazardous Materials Operations, Confined Space Rescue Operations, and as mentioned, he is also certified as an Emergency Medical Technician. The Firefighter of the
Year says the training sessions held nearly every Wednesday evening should be viewed as being beneficial to the community. Mulder is employed with Central Valley Ag. He says there is some important cross-over training that helps him with his full-time job.

Mulder says he was surprised, but appreciative of the honor and is humbled to be named as the Firefighter of the Year. Chief Dave Schipper says Jeff Mulder is a firefighter who does whatever he is requested to do, and is a very giving individual. Schipper says whenever somebody is needing some assistance, Jeff Mulder is the first to offer a contribution or donation to
help the cause.

Mulder says he is most appreciative of the support the Le Mars community shares with the Le Mars Fire and Rescue Department, saying the town’s generosity makes Le Mars a better community.

Mulder says he is a firefighter for one main reason: “to give back to the community.”


Service Anniversary Awards:

Paul Brewer  — 5 years

Michael Dreckman — 10 years

Tony Rolfes — 10 years

Steve Schwarz — 20 years

Mark Hentges — 40 years