Home Sports Dreckman and Hilbrands Earn All-State Honors from IPSWA

Dreckman and Hilbrands Earn All-State Honors from IPSWA

The Iowa Print Sports Writers Association (IPSWA) announced the 2022 girls basketball all-state teams on Tuesday. The teams were selected by print sports writers in Iowa during a meeting on Saturday, March 5.

Hannah Stuelke, of Cedar Rapids Washington, was named Miss Iowa Basketball 2022. A 6-foot-2 senior forward and a University of Iowa signee, Stuelke averaged 29.1 points and 10.3 rebounds per game as the Warriors finished 16-7 this season. She finished her career with 1,793 points and 853 rebounds.

Certificates can be generated as PDFs for players selected to all-state by visiting the “Create Certificates” link on our website, www.iowasportswriters.com.

Sports writers attending the meeting included Greg Grabianowski (Algona Publishing Company), Daryl Schepanski (Anamosa Journal-Eureka), Brian Rathjen (Atlantic News-Telergraph), Scott Spurgeon (Bloomfield Democrat), Zach Martin (Globe Gazette), Ross Thede (Marshalltown Times-Republican), Matt Genger (Missouri Valley Times), Troy Hyde (Newton News), Colin Peters (Oskaloosa Herald), Kyle Ocker (Ottumwa Courier), Matt Coss (Quad-City Times), Dale Wegner (Sac Sun), Zach James (Sioux City Journal), Kristi Nixon (St. Ansgar Enterprise Journal), Jeff Linder (The Cedar Rapids Gazette), and Ross Eberhart (The Observer).

Coaches attending the meeting included Kristin Meyer (Dowling Catholic), Jody Fink (Highland), Don Logan (IBCA), Jesse Cox (Lenox), Ken Spielbauer (Louisa-Muscatine), Brian Wheatley (North Linn), Dr. Anthony W. Pappas (Waterloo West), Dan Druivenga (West Central Valley), Paul Sonius (West Hancock), and Fred Zeller (West Marshall).

The Iowa Print Sports Writers Association was founded in February 2018 to carry on the tradition of newspapers selecting all-state teams for Iowa high school sports.

Two Plymouth County athletes were chosen to the all-state lists for the 2022 season.

Class 1A First Team All-State: 

Emily Dreckman, Sr, MMCRU

Class 1A Second Team All-State:

Ellie Hilbrands, Sr, MMCRU

Emily Dreckman earned Second Team All-State in 2021 while Ellie Hilbrands was Third Team All-State in 2021.

The entire list of all-state honorees can be found by clicking here.