Primary Election Returns



The Associated Press and other media organizations have declared Chuck Grassley the winner of the G-O-P’s nomination as he seeks an eighth term in the U.S. Senate.

Jim Carlin, a Republican state senator from Sioux City, had challenged Grassley in today’s primary, the first time Grassley has faced a primary opponent since winning a seat in the senate in 1980.

Grassley will face retired Navy Admiral Mike Franken. The Associated Pres and other media outlets projected that the Sioux County native Franken finished ahead of former Iowa Congresswoman Abby Finkenauer and Glenn Hurst, a physician from Minden.

US Representative Randy Feenstra of Hull ran unopposed in the 4th District GOP primary.  He will face Democrat Ryan Melton of Nevada in the general election.

Governor Kim Reynolds had no opponent in her Republican primary.  She will face Diedre DeJear of Des Moines, who had no opponent in her Democratic primary, in the general election in November.

In House District 1, JD Scholten was elected in the Democratic primary, with no opposition.  No Republican ran in the primary.

In the 2nd District, Incumbant Steve Hansen of Sioux City was elected, with no opponent.  Hansen will face Robert Henderson in November.  Henderson won the GOP primary.

3rd District State Representative Tom Jeneary won his GOP primary, with no opposition.  There  are no Democrats in the primary race.

In House District 4, incumbent Skyler Wheeler of Hull won a close race with recent university graduate, 19 year old Kendal Zylstra of Larchwood.  Zylstra won over Wheeler in Lyon County by 200 votes, while Wheeler won in Sioux County by 400 votes. No Democrats ran in the primary election.

In House District 5, State Trooper Zachary Dieken of rural Granville defeated incumbent Dennis Bush of Cherokee and Thomas Kuiper of Sibley in the GOP primary. Dieken won with 56% of the vote, winning in Buena Vista, Cherokee and O’Brien Counties, while Kuiper won in Osceola County.  Dieken got the endorsement of Governor Kim Reynolds in this race, as Bush did not support the governor’s education reform bill.  No Democrats ran in the primary.



State Senate – District 1     Incumbent Jackie Smith of Sioux City was unopposed in the Democratic primary.  Rocky DeWitt of Lawton was unopposed in the GOP primary.  Both face off in November.

State Senate – District 3     Lynn Evans  3548, Anthony LaBruna 1925 – Evans, of Sanborn, defeated LaBruna, of Storm Lake in each of the 5 counties making up the 3rd District.  No Democrats ran in this primary.

State Senate – District 7     Kevin Alons of Salix won the GOP primary running unopposed.  No Democrats ran in this primary.