King, Reynolds, Carlin, and Jeneary Declared Winners On Election Night


(Le Mars) — The election is over and the winners were Steve King, Kim Reynolds, Jim Carlin, and Tom Jeneary. Congressman Steve King retained his position as the 4th District Representative for northwest and north central
Iowa. However, Iowa’s two other republican congressional members, David Young and Rod Blum lost their races to the Democratic newcomers, Cindy Axne and Abby Finkenauer. Governor Kim Reynolds was able to win the race against Democratic challenger Fred Hubbell. Reynolds can now claim she is the first “elected” woman to serve as Iowa’s Governor. State Senator Jim Carlin of Sioux City defeated his challenger, Dave Dawson, and Le Mars retired dentist Dr. Tom Jeneary was
able to win the State House seat in his first ever run for a political office.
In what was thought to be a closer race, Congressman Steve King won 33 of the 39 counties. Democrat J.D. Scholten took Woodbury, Webster, Boone, Story, Cerro Gordo, and Floyd counties. King acquired 50.32 percent of the total with 157,221 votes to Scholten’s 146,698 votes.

Governor Kim Reynolds was able to win in 88 of the 99 Iowa counties.  Fred Hubbell did win in many of the state’s urban areas and southeast Iowa including Polk (Des Moines), Johnson (Iowa City), Scott, (Davenport), Dubuque, (Dubuque) Black Hawk, (Waterloo/Cedar Falls) Story, (Ames) Linn (Cedar Rapids), and Clinton (Clinton) counties. Other counties that went
with Hubbell were Lee, Des Moines, and Jefferson counties.
The vote split was Reynolds with 662,633 to Hubbell with 623,099. In her victory speech, Reynolds chanted with her supporters “We’re just getting started,” when she talked about the state’s low unemployment rate, tax cuts,
growing economy, and number one state ranking.

State Senator Jim Carlin defeated Dave Dawson with 64.74 percent of the total with 16,296 to 35.12 percent and 8,841 votes.

Dr. Tom Jeneary easily won his first political race by defeating
Democrat Andrew Emanuel with a 76.84 percent to 23.09 percent with a vote count of 9,706 to 2,917.

Other winners across the state included Republicans Paul Pate, the Secretary of State, and Mike Naig, the Secretary of Agriculture. Democrats Tom Miller and Mike Fitzgerald were able to retain their positions as Attorney General and State Treasurer. Democrat Rob Sand will be the next State Auditor taking over the position from Republican incumbent Mary Mosiman.

Plymouth County results had each republican candidate winning with the exception of Attorney General Tom Miller who won his race, and was unopposed.  Supervisors, Don Kass, John Meis, and Craig Anderson each were re-elected to serve another term.  County Attorney, Darin Raymond, County Treasurer Shelly Sitzmann, and County Recorder Jolynn Goodchild were all able to retain their positions.