Home Sports Caleb Dreckman Named Third Team All-State by IPSWA

Caleb Dreckman Named Third Team All-State by IPSWA


DES MOINES — The Iowa Print Sports Writers Association (IPSWA) announced the 2022 boys basketball all-state teams on Tuesday. The teams were selected by print sports writers in Iowa during a meeting on Saturday, March 12.

Finishing his high school career Friday with a triple-double to lead Ames to a Class 4A state title, sports writers and coaches voted Tamin Lipsey as Mr. Basketball. The Iowa State Cyclones signee adds the honor to a resume that includes a 2019 gold medal in the FIBA Americas U16 Championship.

The 6-foot-2 senior averaged 15.7 points per game, shot 56.7% from the field, and 72.5% from the charity stripe this season for the Ames Little Cyclones. He broke the school’s record for career assists with 339.

Certificates can be generated as PDFs for players selected to all-state by visiting the “Create Certificates” link on our website, http://www.iowasportswriters.com.

Sports writers attending the meeting included Daryl Schepanski (Anamosa Journal-Eureka), Scott Spurgeon (Bloomfield Democrat), Jeff Johnson (Cedar Rapids Gazette), Jared Larson (Creston News), Zach Martin (Mason City Globe Gazette), Ross Thede (Marshalltown Times-Republican), Noah Rohlfing (Marshalltown Times-Republican), Matt Gengler (Missouri Valley Times), Pete Temple (Monticello Express), Colin Peters (Oskaloosa Herald), Kyle Ocker (Ottumwa Courier), Matt Coss (Quad-City Times) and Dale Wenger (Sac Sun).

Coaches attending the meeting included Aaron Thomas (Aplington Parkersburg), Michael Molony (Beckman), Justin Northrop (Belle Plaine), Jason Van Mersbergen (Des Moines Christian), Courtney Henderson (Des Moines Hoover), Todd Kuntz (Dunkerton), Dan Beck (Easton Valley), Nick Gruhlke (Estherville Lincoln Central), Doug Newton (Exira-Elk Horn-Kimballton), Don Logan (IBCA), Tyler Miklo (IBCA/Dowling Catholic), Tim Lambert (Monticello), Mike Hilmer (North Linn), Seth Streebin (North Mahaska), Darrin Berggren (Roland-Story), Ras Vanderloo (Sioux City Wast), Jed Alexander (Van Meter), David Griffin (Wapello), Brett Watson (Waukee Northwest), Derek Keizer (Western Christian), Brad Knoop (Williamsburg) and Josh Wilkerson (Woodbury Central).

The Iowa Print Sports Writers Association was founded in February 2018 to carry on the tradition of newspapers selecting all-state teams for Iowa high school sports.

One Plymouth County athlete was named to the IPSWA All-State Boys Basketball teams.

Class 3A Third Team All-State:

Caleb Dreckman – Le Mars

Dreckman becomes the 26th player in the history of the Le Mars boys basketball program to be named to the IPSWA/INA all-state teams. He is the first to do so since Alex Irwin was named 2nd team all-state in 2019.

You can see the full list of all-staters by clicking here.